The Night Recital

I let darkness creep in on silent haunches

Probing, prodding with its long fingers

Snatching function from feature

As I shivered in fear

It circled overhead

Like an eagle to its prey

Until with loud whisper I cried

“Why do you terrorize me so?”

 

And I was met within a moment

As if waiting for its cue

By silence’s great sound

Symphonically conducted

Its melody familiar

Yet feeling so brand new

It ached along with longing

But so beautifully performed

 

I stood transfixed, transported

by the fullness of its sound

Till like last note it faded

Melting back into the blackness

And so it was it hit me

That for all of its desires

The only thing it wishes for

Is audience for its recital

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

